Booky Thoughts and Me

Book reviews and pondering thoughts of a down to earth person


1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday: The Beautiful and the Cursed

New WoW
Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed #1) by Page Morgan
Publication DateMay 14th 2013
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Synopsis: (Goodreads): Fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series and Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.It was bizarre and inexplicable, and after it happened, Ingrid Waverly was forced to leave her life in London behind. She had to trade a world full of fancy dresses and society events for exile in gothic Paris with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and disturbingly, the house rented by Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, isn’t a house at all. It’s an abbey. A creepy, old abbey with a roof lined in stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures. And to top it all off, Grayson is missing.

Yet no one seems to be concerned about Grayson’s whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant who has some deep and dark secrets of his own. There’s one secret about the city that even Luc can’t keep hidden, though: there’s a murderer on the loose. And every day that Grayson is missing means there’s less chance he’s still alive.

Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows that he’s in grave danger, and that it’s up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost. And yet the path to him is more dangerous than she could ever imagine.

Personal Thoughts: Before I even read the summary, my attention was captured because of what was on the cover: the Eiffel Tower. 🙂 After reading the summary I knew that I had to read the book. The plot sounds intriguing and mysterious. Luckily, I won’t have to wait too long since May 14 is just around the corner.


Leave a comment

Waiting on Wednesday: Stripped

New WoWWaiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Stripped by Brooklyn Skye

Publication Date: May 14, 2013

Synopsis (Goodreads): College freshman Quinn Montgomery will do anything to avoid the mistake her sister made—killing herself over a boy. But when she is forced into nude modeling at a local college to support her family after a bankruptcy, she begins to crack, just enough to let Torrin, the university’s top varsity oarsman, see that the real Quinn is not as feisty and unapproachable as she wants everyone to think. But letting someone in comes at a steep cost and, it turns out, Torrin is connected to Quinn’s family in more ways than she could ever imagine.

Personal Thoughts: This sounds like it will be a great read. It sounds like it will be both dramatic and emotional. I’ve never heard of this author before, but I’m definitely going to give her book a try. The cover looks amazing as well 🙂


Leave a comment

Waiting on Wednesday: Just One Year

Untitled-2

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

12842134Just One Year by Gayle Forman

Publication Date: October 2013

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile

Synopsis (Goodreads): “Can you fall in love in just one day? Can you become a new person? How about in just one year? In JUST ONE DAY and its companion novel JUST ONE YEAR, sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey and easygoing actor Willem De Ruiter are  about to find out against a guidebook-worthy array of foreign backdrops. Equal parts romance, coming-of-age-tale, mystery and travel romp (with settings that span from England’s Stratford upon Avon to Paris to Amsterdam to India’s Bollywood)  JUST ONE DAY and JUST ONE YEAR show how in looking for someone else, you just might wind up finding yourself.”

Personal Thoughts: The storyline sounds awesome 🙂 The cover looks great as well. Can’t wait until this comes out. It’s the sequel to Just One Day. This sounds like it will be a great adventure.


Leave a comment

Waiting On Wednesday: Let the Sky Fall

New WoWWaiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Let The Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

Publication Date: March 5, 2013

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Synopsis (Goodreads): Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is.

Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim—the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them—but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.

Personal Thoughts: The great news is that it is coming out next Tuesday and that will be here before we know it! 🙂 I saw this cover a while back and it looks awesome. The plot sounds fascinating! It will be interesting to see the use of earth elements and how they fight back when bad guys show up on scene. This book has a lot of potential and it’s the start of series. You know me and my series. I sure do love them.


3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

New WoW

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at  Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

16101126

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Publishing: June 4, 2013

Publisher: Viking Juvenile

Synopsis (Goodreads): Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough. Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.

Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?

Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going? Sarah Dessen’s devoted fans will welcome this story of romance, yearning, and, finally, empowerment. It could only happen in the summer.

Personal Thoughts: I love Sarah Dessen and her books are amazing. They are heartfelt, the characters are great and it is always an entertaining read. I can’t wait until this book comes out! It sounds awesome. 🙂


Leave a comment

Waiting on Wednesday: Whiskey Beach by Nora Roberts

New WoWWaiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at  Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Whiskey Beach by Nora Roberts

Publishing: April 16, 2013

Publisher: Putnam Adult

Summary (Goodreads): For more than three hundred years, Bluff House has sat above Whiskey Beach, guarding its shore—and its secrets. But to Eli Landon, it’s home…

A Boston lawyer, Eli has weathered an intense year of public scrutiny and police investigations after being accused of—but never arrested for—the murder of his soon-to-be-ex wife.

He finds sanctuary at Bluff House, even though his beloved grandmother is in Boston recuperating from a nasty fall. Abra Walsh is always there, though. Whiskey Beach’s resident housekeeper, yoga instructor, jewelry maker, and massage therapist, Abra is a woman of many talents—including helping Eli take control of his life and clear his name. But as they become entangled in each other, they find themselves caught in a net that stretches back for centuries—one that has ensnared a man intent on reaping the rewards of destroying Eli Landon once and for all

Personal Thoughts: This book sounds so intriguing and interesting. There’s hints in the synopsis that there might be flashbacks or ghosts involved and that’s always fascinating to read about. It is another Nora Robert’s book and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. The cover looks awesome and a bit mysterious.  You know what they say about quiet places or islands; they are the ones that have mysteries and secrets just waiting to be uncovered.

 In the mean time I’ll be catching up on some of my TBR titles and delving into non- ficiton a bit.