Booky Thoughts and Me

Book reviews and pondering thoughts of a down to earth person


1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday: The Beautiful and the Cursed

New WoW
Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed #1) by Page Morgan
Publication DateMay 14th 2013
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Synopsis: (Goodreads): Fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series and Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.It was bizarre and inexplicable, and after it happened, Ingrid Waverly was forced to leave her life in London behind. She had to trade a world full of fancy dresses and society events for exile in gothic Paris with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and disturbingly, the house rented by Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, isn’t a house at all. It’s an abbey. A creepy, old abbey with a roof lined in stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures. And to top it all off, Grayson is missing.

Yet no one seems to be concerned about Grayson’s whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant who has some deep and dark secrets of his own. There’s one secret about the city that even Luc can’t keep hidden, though: there’s a murderer on the loose. And every day that Grayson is missing means there’s less chance he’s still alive.

Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows that he’s in grave danger, and that it’s up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost. And yet the path to him is more dangerous than she could ever imagine.

Personal Thoughts: Before I even read the summary, my attention was captured because of what was on the cover: the Eiffel Tower. 🙂 After reading the summary I knew that I had to read the book. The plot sounds intriguing and mysterious. Luckily, I won’t have to wait too long since May 14 is just around the corner.


Leave a comment

Waiting on Wednesday: Stripped

New WoWWaiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Stripped by Brooklyn Skye

Publication Date: May 14, 2013

Synopsis (Goodreads): College freshman Quinn Montgomery will do anything to avoid the mistake her sister made—killing herself over a boy. But when she is forced into nude modeling at a local college to support her family after a bankruptcy, she begins to crack, just enough to let Torrin, the university’s top varsity oarsman, see that the real Quinn is not as feisty and unapproachable as she wants everyone to think. But letting someone in comes at a steep cost and, it turns out, Torrin is connected to Quinn’s family in more ways than she could ever imagine.

Personal Thoughts: This sounds like it will be a great read. It sounds like it will be both dramatic and emotional. I’ve never heard of this author before, but I’m definitely going to give her book a try. The cover looks amazing as well 🙂


1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday: When You Were Here

New WoWWaiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney

Publication Date: June 4, 2013

Publisher: Little, Brown

Synopsis: Filled with humor, raw emotion, a strong voice, and a brilliant dog named Sandy Koufax, When You Were Here explores the two most powerful forces known to man-death and love. Daisy Whitney brings her characters to life with a deft touch and resonating authenticity.

Danny’s mother lost her five-year battle with cancer three weeks before his graduation-the one day that she was hanging on to see.

Now Danny is left alone, with only his memories, his dog, and his heart-breaking ex-girlfriend for company. He doesn’t know how to figure out what to do with her estate, what to say for his Valedictorian speech, let alone how to live or be happy anymore.

When he gets a letter from his mom’s property manager in Tokyo, where she had been going for treatment, it shows a side of his mother he never knew. So, with no other sense of direction, Danny travels to Tokyo to connect with his mother’s memory and make sense of her final months, which seemed filled with more joy than Danny ever knew. There, among the cherry blossoms, temples, and crowds, and with the help of an almost-but-definitely-not Harijuku girl, he begins to see how it may not have been ancient magic or mystical treatment that kept his mother going. Perhaps, the secret of how to live lies in how she died.

Personal Thoughts: I saw this a while back and added it to my TBR pile, however, it slipped my mind until today where I read about it again on another blog (Book Labyrinth). This sounds like a bitter sweet tale of finding out a new side to those who thought we knew. I know that it won’t be an easy read due to the issues within the book/topic, but I am going to read it anyways. 🙂


1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday: If I Should Die

Untitled-1

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

0062004034

If I Should Die by Amy Plum

Publication Date: May 7, 2013

Publisher: Harper Collins

Synopsis (Goodreads): I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.

Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France’s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn’t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he’s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we’ve already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying—to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others—so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me?

Personal Thoughts:

I loved Die for Me, the first book in the series and although I haven’t had a chance to read the second one, I’m excited that the next one is coming out.  I love Kate and Vincent as characters and I want to see where they are going to end up.  The cover looks fantastic with the Eiffel Tower in the distance and the gold colors surrounding the girl. It looks beautiful 🙂


1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday: One Heart To Win

New WoW

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

One Heart To Win by Johanna Lindsey

Publication Date: June 11, 2013

Publisher: Gallery Books

Synopsis (Goodreads): 

Some young ladies marry for money and social standing, a few lucky ones marry for love—but Tiffany Warren is marrying to end a feud. Honoring her mother’s promise, Tiffany reluctantly travels west to meet her estranged father and his enemy’s eldest son, rancher Hunter Callahan.Once the Warrens and the Callahans are united by marriage, both clans will stop squabbling over a disputed strip of land.

In the chaos of a train robbery Tiffany seizes a golden opportunity: By assuming the identity of her father’s new housekeeper she can live with the father she never knew and assess his true character, as well as that of the neighboring cowboy to whom she is betrothed. But, too late, Tiffany discovers that the rivalry between the Warrens and the Callahans has escalated when the Callahans steal the Warrens’ housekeeper as soon as she steps off the train! Now, Tiffany, who is pretending to be Jennifer Fleming, finds herself living in the enemy camp, under the same roof as her fiancé.

All too soon she learns her intended is a handsome, sweet talking charmer whom she has to fight off because he can’t keep his eyes—or his hands—off Jennifer. After Tiffany’s charade is exposed she refuses to marry Hunter to end the feud. As Hunter goes about claiming his rightful bride-to-be, he knows that although he loves two women—proper, elegant Tiffany as well as spunky, passionate Jennifer—he has only one heart to win.

Personal Thoughts: I haven’t read a Johanna Lindsey book in a while and I’m starting to get that need to read one. You know when you love an author’s particular writing style, plot lines or just know that you’re going to love the book so you need to pick up a copy soon? I have that right now. All of Lindsey’s books are great, promise laughter and a world to get away to.

It sounds like it is going to be an entertaining read full of mischief and love. It’s sad that it doesn’t come out for a few months though 😦 I don’t think I can wait that long!


Leave a comment

Waiting on Wednesday: All I Need

all I need

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

All I Need by Susane Colasanti

Publication Date: May 21, 2013

Publisher: Viking Juvenile

The last night of summer is only the beginning.

Skye wants to meet the boy who will change her life forever. Seth feels their instant connection the second he sees her. When Seth starts talking to Skye at the last beach party of the summer, it’s obvious to both of them that this is something real. But when Seth leaves for college before they exchange contact info, Skye wonders if he felt the same way she did—and if she will ever see him again. Even if they find their way back to each other, can they make a long-distance relationship work despite trust issues, ex drama, and some serious background differences?

Teen favorite Susane Colasanti returns to the alternating-voice style of her beloved debut When It Happens in this Serendipity-inspired story about summer, soul mates, and the moments that change our lives forever.

Personal Thoughts: This looks like it is going to be another great read by Susane Colasanti. I haven’t read too many books by her but there is still time to test the waters out before this one comes out.  I love the cover with the heart drawn in the sand by the water. 🙂


Leave a comment

Waiting on Wednesday: Dangerous Refuge

Untitled-1

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

DR3d

Dangerous Refuge by Elizabeth Lowell

Publication Date: April 9, 2013

Publisher: William Morrow & Company

Synopsis: On the surface beautiful, quiet Shaye has little in common with dark, dangerous Tanner have little in common. He’s a suspicious big city cop come home to the historic Davis family ranch to settle his uncle’s estate. She’s working for an environmental conservancy that acquires and protects old ranches-and she wants to preserve the Davis homestead.

When the suspicious death of Tanner’s uncle at his ranch throws the two opposites together, tempers flare and sparks fly. While they have trouble seeing eye to eye, Shaye and Tanner agree on one thing: they need to uncover the truth.

Combining their unique skills-Shaye’s low-key approach and local connections and Tanner’s experience as a homicide detective-the unlikely pair share long nights in the pursuit of justice. Before they know it, the friction they generate turns to heat, igniting a burning love neither ever expected to find.

They believe passion this intense cannot last. But when Shaye becomes a killer’s target, Tanner realizes he’d give up anything to protect her-including his life.

Personal Thoughts: Ohh a new one from Elizabeth Lowell! I can’t wait! 🙂 Her books always have a lot of suspense and romance mixed in together which is a great mix.