Booky Thoughts and Me

Book reviews and pondering thoughts of a down to earth person


1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday: The Beautiful and the Cursed

New WoW
Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed #1) by Page Morgan
Publication DateMay 14th 2013
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Synopsis: (Goodreads): Fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series and Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.It was bizarre and inexplicable, and after it happened, Ingrid Waverly was forced to leave her life in London behind. She had to trade a world full of fancy dresses and society events for exile in gothic Paris with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and disturbingly, the house rented by Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, isn’t a house at all. It’s an abbey. A creepy, old abbey with a roof lined in stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures. And to top it all off, Grayson is missing.

Yet no one seems to be concerned about Grayson’s whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant who has some deep and dark secrets of his own. There’s one secret about the city that even Luc can’t keep hidden, though: there’s a murderer on the loose. And every day that Grayson is missing means there’s less chance he’s still alive.

Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows that he’s in grave danger, and that it’s up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost. And yet the path to him is more dangerous than she could ever imagine.

Personal Thoughts: Before I even read the summary, my attention was captured because of what was on the cover: the Eiffel Tower. 🙂 After reading the summary I knew that I had to read the book. The plot sounds intriguing and mysterious. Luckily, I won’t have to wait too long since May 14 is just around the corner.