Booky Thoughts and Me

Book reviews and pondering thoughts of a down to earth person

The month is over… now what?

Leave a comment

Throughout my journey of being  a vegetarian last month I had one thought spinning through my head, and even my boyfriend Thomas did as well. We thought that when this was over, the first day back (April 1, 2013) we were going to celebrate by having a nice juicy steak with grilled vegetables and mashed potatoes. Did that happen? Nope.  I was successful in not eating meat for the month so I am happy with that. There were a few days (a birthday/Easter) where I was tempted to call it quits for that one day and continue the next day but I persevered. On the last day when it was Easter I was having a mental fight with my brain and I actually didn’t want to eat the meat because I felt guilty. Haha 🙂 It worked to get me through though.

Thomas has decided to keep on going for a bit longer. As for myself, I did have a small portion of meat on April 2nd, but I’m not even craving it  now. I guess when your body gets used to something, it doesn’t really miss the bad stuff.

I think that starting with the small goal (try being vegetarian for a month) has been a catalyst for me to do other things on my list. I’ve been exercising more, eating better, I’m training for a 5 km run and I don’t even crave chocolate that much anymore. (I’m a chocoholic so I think my brain is still scrambling to find a reason why I’m not eating as much chocolate as I used to).

Not eating meat for the whole month has made me feel a lot better, especially my body. I don’t know what it is, but I feel lighter and healthier. (the exercise is helping too 🙂 ) I don’t know exactly what will happen in the future, but for now I think I will treat eating meat as something to have on a special occasion. We will see how that goes. However, I will go back to eating fish since it has a lot of healthy fats/benefits for the body (salmon). It won’t be everyday, but a few times a week.

One other thing I noticed is that aside from the first week, I didn’t really go out to eat at all. I preferred to stay home and prepare my own meals. Not only did I save money, but I ate healthier. I’ve tried a bunch of new recipes, tried a variety of new foods and it has expended my knowledge.

I know that there is a time and place for everything. What I am curious is why did I finally start and succeed last month? And it wasn’t only with changing my eating habits, it was with getting fit as well. It could be because I am surrounded by people who are trying to lose weight. Or it could be something else entirely. In any case, I have started on an interesting journey and I am excited to see where it will take me.

Leave a Reply

