Booky Thoughts and Me

Book reviews and pondering thoughts of a down to earth person

Halfway Point…

Leave a comment

photo

It’s almost the half way point for my boyfriend Thomas and myself on being vegetarians for the month. Let me start off by saying that it is not as hard as I thought it would be. Granted I don’t eat that much meat to start off so that part isn’t that hard. I think one of the hardest things is not being able to eat fish as well. I miss my shrimp and salmon dearly. Hahaha. 🙂 I’m more of a fish person than a meat person.

I’ve definitely started to eat other foods that I don’t normally eat on a daily basis so it has opened up my palate quite a bit.  One of the biggest frustrations I’ve been finding is when I go out to eat with friends and there aren’t that many options on the menu that are vegetarian. I mean the other day I went to Moxie’s with a couple of my girlfriends to meet up and catch up. Aside from having a salad there was only one  other option on the menu that was vegetarian. I’ve been to a few other restaurants and they have had some selection when it comes to choosing something. It has really opened my eyes what vegetarians go through.

Another thing that I’ve found a bit of a challenge is not always being hungry. It seems that after every meal I am fine for a few hours but then I am hungry again. I think I need to find more foods that will fill me up more and for longer periods of time. Let’s see where the end of the month takes me. I know that I will be changing my eating habits further to get healthier for sure. 🙂

For those out there that are vegetarian, any suggestions of what foods keep you fuller longer?

Leave a Reply

