Booky Thoughts and Me

Book reviews and pondering thoughts of a down to earth person

Book Review: The Amanda Project: Shattered

Leave a comment

The Amanda Project: Shattered  by Amanda Valentino and Laurie Faria Stolarz

Published:December 27, 2011

Publisher: Harper Teen

Everything Amanda said about her past was a lie. Now, to save her, the truth must be revealed.

The search for Amanda continues in Book Three of the Amanda Project. This book is Nia’s version of the story and the search for Amanda. Nia, Callie and Hal were all brought together one fateful night and the search for Amanda began.

They are shocked to know that everything they have ever known or were told about Amanda was a lie and now the truth must be found out. Through Nia’s version, the group follows a new lead that deals with mysterious onyx eyes and snake symbols, an air craft field and the emergence of a new player to join their search quest. Will it be enough to uncover the truth and finally find what happened to Amanda?

Personal Thoughts:

This was book three in a series and I found it to be a bit confusing. I know that I will have to go back and read books one and two to see where the other two versions from Hal and Callie lead. I’ll be honest, the concept seemed interesting when I first picked up the book, but I struggled to finish it.  I think what really got to me as I was struggling to finish this book was the way it was written and the overall story plot. It seemed like there was a lot of repetition and not enough mystery. The characters weren’t fully developed, although I don’t know whether that is intentional or whether they are more detailed in the first two books.

I loved the cover and the design work within the books pages. It added a nice touch to the overall theme of the book. Overall, I found this book to be a disappointment and unfulfilling.

Leave a Reply

