Booky Thoughts and Me

Book reviews and pondering thoughts of a down to earth person

Dragonette and Young Empires Concert

Leave a comment

Young Empires at the Sound Academy

Aside from going to see Lights at last year’s (2011) CNE, I don’t remember when the last time I went to a concert was. It’s not that I don’t enjoy music or going to concerts, it’s just it’s always been either expensive, I had work and couldn’t book it off or the band that I wanted to see wasn’t coming to the Toronto area. Plus it helps having company to go with you and see a said concert. In any case, I finally got a chance to go see Dragonette, Young Empires, and Kaylee Johnston . I’ve never heard of Young Empires but it turns out that their music is exactly what I like.

They’ve been around since October 2009 but this is the first time that I have heard them perform. All I have to say is wow. Their show was amazing. Their music has this energy that makes you want to jump up and down in joy. Some of their songs just grab you and don’t let go. It’s like they are pulling at your soul to come out and see the world. It’s hard to describe the feeling, but it definitely moved me.

It’s rare for me to like the entire album of a particular artist, since I usually like a few songs and the rest are ok. However, I thoroughly enjoyed all the songs that Young Empires played from their new album.

Dragonette was great as well. She performed some of her older songs as well as a few songs from her new album. I haven’t heard her new album yet but will have a listen when I get a chance. It has some great songs on it.

None of my friends came with me so I was by myself. However, I don’t care whether that makes me a loser or not. There is nothing wrong with going to a concert by yourself and having a blast. I had a great time and I am glad that I had a chance to see it live. It’s hard to find people who have the same tastes in music, but that doesn’t mean that one shouldn’t go to a concert. It was a great, although rainy night, but it was definitely memorable.

Here’s a little taste of their music: 🙂

Leave a Reply

